The colloquium meets generally three times per quarter on Thursdays at 4:30pm in the Lane History Building, Room 307, unless noted below.

Main content start

Colloquia 2023-24

Past Colloquia

May
23
Date
Thursday, May 23, 2024, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Location:
History Bldg 200 Room 307
Giorgio Riello
May
22
Date
Wednesday, May 22, 2024, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Location:
History Bldg 200 Room 307
Talk by David Bates, Professor in the Department of Rhetoric at UC Berkeley and Author of An Artificial History of Natural Intelligence: Thinking with Machines from Descartes to the Digital Age, wi
May
17
Date
Friday, May 17, 2024 - Saturday, May 18, 2024, All day
Location:
David Rumsey Map Center, 557 Escondido Mall, Stanford University
Since its arrival in the Rumsey Map Center, the Milanese cartographer Urbano Monte’s 1587 world map has become one of the uniquely compelling artifacts in our collection.  One of three survivi
May
1
Date
Wednesday, May 1, 2024, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Location:
History Bldg 200, Room 307
The 21st century has witnessed a ‘rediscovery’ of Iberian scientific knowledge as fundamental for our understanding of early modern science history.
April
15
Date
Monday, April 15, 2024, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Location:
History Building 200 Room 307
Re-thinking Abortion in 17th Century Anglo-America
February
29
Date
Thursday, February 29, 2024, 4:30pm - 6:00pm
Location:
History Bldg Room 307
February
3
Date
Saturday, February 3, 2024, 10:00am - 5:00pm
Location:
Stanford Humanities Center
424 Santa Teresa Street
February
2
Date
Friday, February 2, 2024 - Saturday, February 3, 2024, All day
Location:
Stanford Humanities Center
Levinthal Hall
424 Santa Teresa Street
Stanford CA 94305
Galileo’s Letters:  Experiments in FriendshipFebruary 2-3, 2024Stanford Humanities Center 
January
31
Date
Wednesday, January 31, 2024, All day
January
24
Date
Wednesday, January 24, 2024, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Location:
Green Library, Bing Wing
459 Lasuen Mall, Stanford, CA 94305
SVA seminar room 126